Northwestern Wildcats Tickets

The Northwestern Wildcats is the athletics program of the Northwestern University, located at Evanston, Illinois. It is one of the founders of the Big Ten Conference, as well as the only private university within it. It is home to nineteen varsity teams; eight men’s sports teams and eleven women’s teams, all of which are members of the NCAA Division I. The official mascot of the university is Willie the Wildcat with James J. Phillips as the athletics director. Its football team is one of the best in the nation, often seen playing at the Ryan Field, with other teams playing at the Welsh–Ryan Arena and Rocky Miller Park. For fans of college football, this is a team to catch live via Northwestern Wildcats tickets.

The Northwestern Wildcats official colors are white and purple. Their football team has been active since 1876 and has been ranked first nationally two times. It plays at the Ryan Field, known before as the Dyche Stadium. It has made a number of records within the NCAA Division I. Their current coach is Pat Fitzgerald, former All–American, who is the youngest coach in the NCAA Division I FBS. The team has also participated in nine bowls since 1995, winning several. Since 1995, the football team has won three Big Ten Championships and have qualified for the bowl games seven times in the last eight seasons. It is regularly ranked as one of the best teams in the nation, and has won such highly coveted awards as the AFCA Academic Achievement Award a record four times.
The Northwestern Wildcats football team has also spawned some of the best football players, such as famous first round draft picks Napoleon Harris and Luis Castillo. They have won eight Big Ten Conference Championships and have established themselves as one of the best teams in the conference, which is home to some of the highest ranked college football teams. It has come a long way from its debut in 1876, when it participated in an exhibition game against the Chicago Football Club. Its first intercollegiate game was played against Lake Forest College in 1882. In 1892, a new stadium was built and opened, the Sheppard Field, for the football team.
The football team has fierce rivalries with a number of schools, foremost against the Illinois Fighting Illni0 from the University of Illinois. The two teams have competed in a series since 1892, competing for the Sweet Sioux Tomahawk Trophy from 1947 to 2000, and then for the Land of Lincoln Trophy. It has also had fierce rivalries with the Notre Dame Fighting Irish football team and the University of Chicago’s Chicago Maroons football team.
Fifteen of their players have been inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame, starting with Otto Graham in 1956. Twenty six of their players have been honored as All–Americans. Players and coaches have also won the Bednarik Award, Bronko Nagurski Trophy, Bobby Bowden Award, the AFCA Coach of the Year Award and many more. Catch their games live by booking Northwestern Wildcats tickets.