San Diego Padres Tickets

Nicknamed "The Friars", the San Diego Padres are a Major League Baseball team based in San Diego, California remaining one of five National League teams to have never won a World Series. Their name was adopted from the Pacific Coast League team which arrived in San Diego in 1936. They joined the ranks of Major League Baseball as one of four new expansion teams in 1969. C. Arnholt Smith, a prominent San Diego businessman, was the original owner of the team. San Diego Stadium (later Jack Murphy Stadium) was built for San Diego Padres but San Diego Padres struggled during their early days even under the guidance of longtime baseball executives Buzzie Bavasi and Eddie Leishman. San Diego Padres lost around 91 games in a single season between 1969 and 1974.

Their original manager was Preston Gomez who led them from their April 8, 1969 debut, a 2-1 home field victory over the Houston Astros, until midway through the 1972 season, when he was replaced by Don Zimmer. He later left with a 180-316 record. First baseman Nate Colbert was a power-hitting slugger who twice hit 38 home runs in a season and has the honor of becoming the first San Diego Padres to drive in more than 100 runs in 1972. He was the best player of the team during its formative years.

The San Diego Padres was sold to McDonald's' co-founder Ray Kroc, before the beginning of 1974 season and kept the team in San Diego. Young Ozzie Smith arrived in the 1978 season and introduced a unique acrobatic style. He actually redefined how the position should be played in the field. They hosted the All-star game that summer and the National League won the contest 7-3.

With veterans Steve Garvey, Garry Templeton, Graig Nettles and Rich Gossage, as well as former San Diego State University baseball and basketball star Tony Gwynn, the Padres won the National League West championship in 1984. Tony Gwynn captured his first of what would be eight National League batting championships. He proudly won the championships in 1987, 1988, 1989, 1994, 1995, 1996 and 1997 and shared the National League record with Honus Wagner that year.Gwynn?joined the team in 1982 following starring roles in both baseball and basketball at San Diego State University. Even though, the Pads finished dead last in 1987, rookie catcher Benito Santiago won the NL Rookie of the Year Award due to his outstanding performance.

Wanting a commitment to San Diego, Joan Kroc sold the team to television producer Tom Werner who later changed the brown colored hats to navy blue.

"Four Tops" were featured in the 1992 Padres lineup namely Gary Sheffield, Fred McGriff, Tony Fernandez, and Tony Gwynn. Gwynn hit .394 in the strike-shortened 1994 season but the team finished dead last. After that a mega-trade with Houston brought in Ken Caminiti, Steve Finley, and others. San Diego Padres finished with the lowest-ever winning percentage for a division champion in a non-strike season, 82-80 in 2005, but their victory over the Los Angeles Dodgers on September 30 gave them their 81st victory. They finished the season with an overall regular-and-post-season record of 82-83, the first post-season qualifier in a normal-length season to lose more games than it won overall.?

Frequently Asked Questions

Q:How long will it take to process the order of san diego padres tickets?

A:While we try our best to process the order of san diego padres Tickets right away, it may take up to one business day!

Q:I might have gotten a little late, but are san diego padres tickets available with you?

A:Yes, there are plenty of san diego padres Tickets still available with us, however order them right away to avoid future trouble.

Q:Can I get my san diego padress tickets excahnged?

A:Sorry but your San Diego Padres Tickets cannot be exchanged as that is against our policy.

Q:I am in search of San Diego Tickets For Sale. Help!

A:Your San Diego Padres Tickets can be bought from our site at cheap rates.